Wk12- Artist Interview- Angie Samblotte & Lacy McCune

Angie Samblotte and Lacy McCune’s Taking My Time in the Paradigm art show is one of the most interesting and innovative galleries I have seen at the CSULB art galleries by far. I enjoyed every piece and thought they offered a unique personality. My favorite of the gallery was the Engrained installation which consisted of 19 slices of basswood that contained a burning and acrylic drawing on each slice. i found this piece to be one of the drawing points of the gallery as one might not think to make a load of bread into an art piece using wood and burning techniques. Although I’m not entirely sure what the engraved drawings represent, they were truly amazing and very unique in design. It’s nice to see artists use a skill that not many know, this begin the craft of woodwork and burning. I also liked the double entendre that Angie and Lacy utilized to name their piece, the “grain” representing the grain used in bread as well as the grain that was used to engrave each slice. Personally, I love when artists have “odd” pieces in their gallery because it distinguishes their art from others, making these types of pieces more memorable and special to the viewer. I wish I had a large budget because I would have loved to purchase this piece because it immediately stood out to me and I absolutely loved the idea behind it.

Artist Tag: dutzi-gallery

photo 4 photo 2 photo 3 photo 5

Leave a Reply

