Wk3- Artist Interview- Christopher Vavrek

Walking through Christopher Vavrek’s art installation at the CSULB Gatov Gallery, I was immediately immersed in this amazing art piece. It spoke so much to me and as a film student I was intrigued by its message, or my perception of what I believe Vavrek was trying to convey. I was absolutely taken away by the amount of detail and elements throughout the installation. Such detail can only be expressed by such a sophisticated artist. The different sections of the installation reminded me of perhaps a man taken over by the generations of technology. All mediums from film to recent technology were portrayed throughout the exhibit and gave me a sensational thrill as I carefully admired each and every detail, immersing myself into what the artist could mean by all of this.

As a film student and a huge admirer of crime shows, the darkness and chaos of the master piece reminded me of a scene out of a crime show with all of the elements of the trashed computers, stacked DVDs, and flickering monitors displayed across the room. I couldn’t believe how much detail was in the entire installation as I have never experienced such a thing before. Walking out of the gallery I grew an immense respect for the artist as I could tell they poured their heart and all they have learned into this piece and I was thoroughly impressed. I hope Christopher got a “standing ovation” for his thesis, such craft and attention deserves praise and I hope to see more of his work throughout the galleries.

IMG_2481 IMG_2483 IMG_2486 IMG_2488 IMG_2491 IMG_2492 IMG_2493 IMG_2494 IMG_2497 IMG_2498

Leave a Reply

